Folding My Big Fat Toenail

The other day I really wanted to take some pictures. I had been long overdue to do some photo editing and I had the cool idea to take my piano out to the middle of my subdivision in the middle of the night. All systems were go. I had just seen a midnight movie and it was around 2:30 in the morning. Now, all I had to do was create a path through the garage so that I could pull that heavy sucker out from the back. And so it began!

I made a path and I quickly found out it was going to be harder than expected. With every push, the piano squeaked very loudly. The wheels are really bad. It reverberated throughout the piano as well as throughout the garage and I was afraid I was going to wake up the whole neighborhood. Or even worse, people would look out their windows, see some doofus trying to yank a piano out of a garage and call it in as a robbery.

But finally I made it…

To the driveway. There was no way I was getting this to the middle of the suburb. I then tried to take some new artist pictures of myself—none of which came out very well:

Piano Modeling 1

Piano Modeling 2

Nose Modeling?

But now for the part you’ve all been waiting for. It took me forever to pull the piano out as I was trying not to wake anyone up. But as I was pulling it in, the bottom of the piano slid across my big toe. But of course, I couldn’t just crush it a little. No, it had to rip my big left toenail off the skin with it. Oh, and of course it couldn’t just rip the nail off a bit. No, it had to have enough momentum to rip half of it off the skin and then somehow fold it on top of itself.

Some loud, quiet moaning began to escape through my quenched lips as I quickly shoved the piano to the front of the garage, closed it and ran inside to proceed with the louder moaning.

Which no one heard.

Finally, for the first time since I was like 5, I awoke my parents in the middle of the night for something serious. And no, this time it wasn’t about my creepy childhood dream where that bakery guy from the Magic School Bus was going to hit me with his rolling pin.

“Can you guys come look at this please?”

“Look at what?”

“Just please come look!”

I then went and sat by the fireplace to finally get a good look at my toe. Oh, and I should mention during this time  I had to unfold my toenail back to normal:

I ended up noticing this night how big of an effect parents have on our lives. If I had done this at college at 3 in the morning, I would have had no one to take a look at it. And even though my parents aren’t experts or doctors, they were able to advise me to soak it, put that stupid antibacterial stuff on it that I hate, and to not clip it off yet, but to let it protect what was underneath.

The point I wanted to make is that parenting is a big deal. When we’re kids, we die for their advice. When we’re teens, we would rather sometimes die than hear their advice. And then some day it becomes our turn to watch the circle of life from the other side. Yes, believe it or not, someday we’ll be the advice givers.

I am more than certain that much of who I am today has been developed by my parents—in a good way. They must have understood Proverbs 22:6 quite well.

Train up a child in the way he should go, even when he is old he will not depart from it.

And so thank you, to my parents for teaching me under the authority of God and for taking care of me.

One last thing: if you’ve ever read Joshua you might have picked up on something much bigger than it sounds. There is a literary pattern that comes up quite often. Whenever something big happens there tends to be an “exists to this day” after it. One of the ideas behind why this might be is so that people would teach their children about what happens, because if you haven’t noticed, children love to ask questions. And I’m fairly confident that I asked quite a few in my childhood. Here are my notes from my Old Testament Historical Book class to finish this point:

Kids ask questions about things, so one of the ideas behind the “to this day” phrase being used so often is that you are supposed to teach your kids what the memorials are about so kids know what God did for them. Some commentators suggest that the book of Joshua among other things is a teaching manual for parents in order to teach children the traditions of God giving them the land. In other words this is what God did to get us into the land.

If you would like to download all of my Old Testament notes, feel free to grab my free pdf notebook “Old Testament Notes & Whatnot” off wordpress. If you do grab it however, you should always test your information. I take a lot of notes, and so on occasion I might have typed something in wrong. Just a heads up ;)

Leave a Reply

