A Review on Church Music, by David Crowder Band

Very rarely does such an album come out like the one that did today, and I gotta say, I didn’t even see it coming. Granted I knew that Crowder had a new album coming out today and had heard some of the singles off of it, I had no idea it was going to be anything like what it is.

And what it is is a masterpiece.

I have the tendency to stay up until midnight when I know an album I’ve been waiting for is coming out, and then right at 12:00 I buy it off iTunes. Then I stay up for an hour (or however long the album is) listening to it. And that is exactly what I did. But little did I know that I wasn’t just going to listen to the album—I was going to experience it. Rarely do artists turn their musical compilations into journeys, but that is exactly what Crowder did, and that is exactly why it is now one of my favorite albums of all time. From the moment it starts to the moment it ends, there are very few or no gaps at all, each song connecting into the next, something that hasn’t really been done since Andy Hunter’s “Exodus.”

On top of that, this album is long. Gloriously long! Now there are some great short albums and what not out there, but nothing makes me happier than to sit down and take a 1.2 hour journey through music, each song complimenting the next, making the adventure better and better until it reaches it’s climax at the end. And there’s not a boring part in the album anywhere! There are literally no tracks where you’ll want to say, “I wish this wasn’t here” or “the album would have been perfect if it was missing this.” No, this album is pretty much perfect.

Also, I’m an electronica junkie. I love it when bands incorporate synthesizers, techno beats, or whatever else they can into music. But lately, the electronic realm of music has become stagnant. While it was once new and exciting, so many people have started incorporating it into their music that it’s all starting to sound the same. But the fellas at Crowder Band Inc. put uniqueness back into the ever-growing genre. It’s not your typical electronic influence. And in all honesty, David Crowder Band is one of the only bands who can take some cheesy sounding keyboard effects and turn it into the most beautiful thing you’ve ever heard.

From soaring guitars to explosions of drum loops and atmospheric keyboards to beautiful violins and reverberating choral work to straight up piano, this album was created with nearly every instrument it takes to build a masterpiece. And ever genre as well. Rock to electronica and acoustic to even a taste of hip-hop.

While there are some albums people flock to just to own one or two songs on it, there is really no one song I can point out to you to buy. The only true way to experience this album is to buy the whole thing, sit down with some popcorn, and listen from beginning to end. And truth be told, I would rather have a truly complete CD than a couple of singles any day.

Oh, and did I mention there’s a cover of a Flyleaf song?

Totally didn’t see that coming.

Alright, I’ve said what I wanted to say. Well almost, there’s one last thing:

Go buy “Church Music.” Now.

Oh, and one other thing:
Best album of the year.
Perhaps even of all time. 


2 thoughts on “A Review on Church Music, by David Crowder Band

  1. I completely agree. This thing is amazing and I can’t quit listening to it. One thing I would add: if you do want to buy one song, make it Shadows. Or Oh, Happiness!

Leave a Reply

