Ministry Interviews

As I thought of whom I could contact about their ministries, I had two people come to mind. The first was a man named Chad who is now the youth pastor at one of my former churches. When I was still there, Brian Kono was my youth pastor and so I was curious if I could find out if the ministry and vision of the youth group had changed since Kono and I had moved from that area. The other man I attempted to contact is the author of the book, When Pigs Move In, and his name is Don Dickerman. Both this book and his ministry (Don Dickerman Ministries) are focused on delivering people from demonic oppression. While I was unable to get a hold of Don himself, the representative who answered the phone gave me a few answers to my questions.

In talking with Chad about his youth ministry, I came to find that the overall vision of the church had not really changed too drastically. In fact, they had taken Kono’s old logo and adapted it to the rest of the church. The logo consists of four arrows circling around to point to the middle of the circle it made. There are five things this logo stands for which Chad shared with me in my interview. These five things include honoring Christ with our lives, sharing Him, connecting to the church, growing in Him, and serving Him by serving others. The overall goal and vision of this church was to see people’s lives changed in Christ and these five areas were a way of measuring that.

Chad’s biggest challenge was to “help kids understand the relevance of Christ in their lives and why He’s important.” He went on to mention that “A lot of kids today like to try and experience different things and Christ is so traditional and old to them that it’s hard for them to figure out if He is something they want.” This voiced one of the big challenges that Kono and the rest of his youth leadership group (which I was a part of) had as well.

While we were fairly successful at creating an atmosphere for the youth group to grow, it was sometimes a challenge to find new ways to keep people’s attention. On top that, this challenge has reigned even truer in the other ministries I have been a part of, as it seems that the older the people we minister to, the less creative we are. In relation to this challenge, Chad also mentioned that “It’s also hard to find modern models today that apply to today’s generation of teenagers as opposed to those in the past.”

It sounded like the biggest joy for Chad in his ministry was “Being able to see kids making good decisions and accepting Christ for the first time.” Outside of that he mentioned that he also enjoyed seeing them “willing to sacrifice themselves instead of choosing something selfish.” Overall, these are the same kind of joys I get in the music ministry I was working in for several years. In fact, one of my biggest hardships for me was not being able to take part in these joys. When people did not seem to be affected by my ministry or did not respond, I would have a hard time coping with it. But when people are making good decisions, accepting Christ, and sacrificing themselves for the sake of others, everything feels much better.

The other ministry I interviewed is quite a different ministry that can be hard to find in today’s day and age. It appears that in Don Dickerman’s book, he basically travels wherever deliverance is needed. If someone believes they are suffering from demonic oppression, he makes a trip there to deliver them. He also has done prison ministry for quite awhile and delivered people such as “The Son of Sam” who is now a Christian. And so it appears that his prison ministry and deliverance ministry collide in many ways.

The representative at Don Dickerman ministries was fairly quick and to the point and informed me that the vision of their ministry is basically to “Make sure God’s people get set free” from demonic oppression. This statement reigns true in relation to Dickerman’s book as he makes quite a journey at times to relieve people from satan’s wrath. And on top of that, he has helped people “get free” by educating them on the demonic and how to do deliverances themselves. His website is also full of other sources on how to operate in the power of God.

While it wasn’t elaborated on too much, it appears that “People being ready for ministry” is the biggest challenge of this ministry. I can see this being true in the ministries I’ve been a part of as well. For example, my old church had to set up for 1-2 hours every Sunday morning inside of a school and for nearly 3 years, mostly the same people were stuck doing all of the work. Finding people who will take the time to work in ministry can be very difficult. I imagine that it would be even more difficult for a ministry like Don’s as they have to find people who are willing to be trained to fight off demons and many people who are uneducated about them fear learning about it.

Finally, the biggest joy that Don Dickerman ministries would get is from seeing someone set free from demonic oppression, which must be incredibly powerful. This joy can spread to everyone who knew the person, as they will see that Jesus has liberated him or her. The same person who struggled with sex or drugs or depression is now happy and has a burning desire for God. Not only does it minister to the Christians around him or her, but it can also minister to any unbelieving friend who saw the exorcism and the difference before and after.

While these ministries had plenty of hope to offer me, they also voiced some of the concerns from my past. But, having worked in churches for many years now, I feel fairly confident that I know what I am getting into. I do not expect church to run smoothly and easily because I know that I have to deal with people of all sorts, which means that there will be struggles here and there. But then again, the church has always been a family and we all know fairly well how dysfunctional we can be. And so I try to emphasize hope in my future while recognizing that there will be difficulty as well.

Questions for Youth Pastor Chad of Westland Free Methodist Church

1.What is the vision/mission of this minister or ministry?

Essentially it is to see people’s lives changed through Christ in five ways. Honoring Christ through our lives, sharing Him, connecting to the church, growing in Him, serving Him in others.

2.What are the biggest challenges or needs that this minister or ministry faces?

Right now the biggest challenge is to help kids understand the relevance of Christ in their lives and why He’s important. A lot of kids today like to try and experience different things and Christ is so traditional and old to them that it’s hard for them to figure out if He is something they want. It’s also hard to find modern models today that apply to today’s generation of teenagers opposed to the past.

3. What are the greatest rewards/joys associated with this ministry?

Being able to see kids making good decisions and accepting Christ for the first time especially. Also when they are willing to sacrifice themselves instead of choosing something selfish.

Questions for Ministry Representative of Don Dickerman Deliverance Ministries

1.What is the vision/mission of this minister or ministry?

Make sure God’s people get set free from demonic oppression.

2. What are the biggest challenges or needs that this minister or ministry faces?

People being ready for ministry.

3. What are the greatest rewards/joys associated with this ministry?

Watching someone walk out free.

Leave a Reply

