Using a Sword in Worship

So I mentioned a little while back that I had gotten a sword after being knighted at church. Yes, it sounds cheesy and weird, but it meant more to me than I can really explain because despite it’s cheesiness it has been a reminder that I am in a spiritual war, battling demons and even my own flesh.

And yes, I have even at times found myself in sin, grabbing my sword (Shekinah) and waving it around, praying, and declaring battle.

And then today I was reading “The Happy Intercessor” by Beni Johnson when she quoted this Bible passage:

Then it happened that night that the angel of the LORD went out and struck 185,000 in the camp of the Assyrians; and when men rose early in the morning, behold, all of them were dead. (2 Kings 19:35)

It occurred to me how insane it was that because of some prayer, something so supernatural happened that God didn’t even have to work through His people. Why? Because He bypassed humanity and let all Heaven break loose!

Our prayer is like a sword. It actually does something.

Beni went on after quoting this passage to tell a story that I really enjoyed and thought you might enjoy as well:

“God showed me several years ago just how strong our prayers are. In the late ’90s, it was really cool to have a sword at church. many of us felt like having a sword was saying prophetically that we were in a war and that God was fighting for us. We used them for spiritual warfare and making prophetic declarations. All kinds of prophetic acts were done using swords. I was in a conference where we called all the women up and knighted them for the kingdom. It was a fun time.

I thought i would be really fun to get a dagger. I liked what daggers were used for in wartime. They used them to fight and to dig out arrow tips that wounded them in battle.

I went onto a website to order one. I found one called the state guardian dagger. Prophetically that sounded good to me. I felt like a guardian over my state. I ordered it wand waited six long weeks for it to arrive. During this season in my life, I felt like I was going through a time of deafness in hearing God speak. It was a quiet time. Well, the day came when the dagger came to the house. I couldn’t believe how big the box was. It must have been close to 6 feet high. I thought that they must really pack their good well. As I unpacked the box, I reached in and began pulling out this very long sword. As I pulled the sword from the box, my spirit ears opened up and I heard, ‘You think your prayers are like a dagger, but I think your prayers are like this sword.'”

Leave a Reply

