Talking to the Trees

In an episode of Stargate SG-1, Samantha Carter comes up with the idea to let the natives of the planet they’re on, sing out in their 20 part harmony howl. Because of this, a highly advanced species of plant reacts peacefully to the noise. After a good 41 minutes of trying to figure out how to make the plant respond in that way, Carter’s teammates ask her where she got this idea.

“I… I talk to my plants okay.”

Oh Carter. Plants don’t have ears! Or do they? Maybe they don’t scientifically, but you have to wonder sometimes. We as humans obviously have wondered in the past. People have set up science projects that requires them to insult one plant and compliment the other or they might play happy music around one and bad, sad, scary music on the other.

Whether it’s been true or not, I have become curious if there is some bigger kind of connection between us and plant life than we think. I was writing about it in my little sci-fi story the other day in order to further describe the area of Jericho, but I am writing about it now because of what I just read in Matthew 21:19-22.

19Seeing a lone fig tree by the road, He came to it and found nothing on it except leaves only; and He said to it, “No longer shall there ever be any fruit from you.” And at once the fig tree withered.

20Seeing this, the disciples were amazed and asked, “How did the fig tree wither all at once?”

21And Jesus answered and said to them, “Truly I say to you, if you have faith and do not doubt, you will not only do what was done to the fig tree, but even if you say to this mountain, ‘Be taken up and cast into the sea,’ it will happen.

22“And all things you ask in prayer, believing, you will receive.”

Now I’m not gonna lie, when I read this passage some reason I thought a fig tree looked like this:

Not like this:

Can you imagine Jesus making something this size wither right in front of you? The image in my mind of what a fig tree was was an image of a lack of faith!

Now here’s the deal. I don’t want you to focus on my thoughts too much because I realize I am slightly taking this verse out of context. The point behind making the fig tree wither was to show the disciples that they can do anything with faith. However, you gotta wonder why Jesus decided to make it wither by kind of insulting it by saying, “No longer shall there ever be any fruit from you.” If it was insulting it at least seems like it would have stolen the plants hope. And then after that He goes on to talk about talking to the mountains.

Now the Holy Spirit is capable of doing anything so it could also be the Spirit at work in different ways.

I’m not trying to go all Pocahontas on the subject here, but I am curious if the world around us is a bit more receptive than we think. So go ahead and add my name to the crazy list :P

Again, the point behind this passage is that with faith you can do anything. I was just taking a bit of a deeper look into it.

Speaking of nature, we’re supposed to get a possible foot of snow today and it looks pretty sweet outside right now.

Leave a Reply

