Quickly Answered Prayer

I had a revelation this morning. Actually, I believe the revelation has been hanging over me for about a month in a half and I never even realized it because I was jealous!

That’s right, jealousy held me back from recognizing it! But now I realize I have nothing to be jealous about, because the very thing I was jealous of was answered prayer!

“Jamin,” you say. “What the crap are you talking about?”

Well I shall tell you by demonstrating this revelation with previous posts. Check it out:

01.07.2010: Shekinah Stimulation Day #1

A couple months ago, one of my teachers, Dr. Brewer, was talking about how big of a deal prayer was and the difference it made. I was hit with idea at that moment to start a morning prayer group that would pray over Spring Arbor University among other things. I thought it was a cool idea, but I ended up putting it out of my mind.

Info from Group Event

Shekinah Stimulation is a new group on the campus of Spring Arbor University that is meeting to grow deeper in the glory of God and to bring that glory to the campus. But how exactly do we do that? Well, for starters we will do so through such things as prayer, revelation, devos, worship, and so on and so forth…

During J-term we’ll be meeting in the Ormston lobby from 7:45 to 8:something every weekday morning.

Okay, so that was just to show that a big part of our meeting together was just to pray for the campus, for revival, and whatever else God puts on our hearts. But by human standards, this “Shekinah Stimulation” was a flop. The first day there was two of us. The next day there was two of us. And eventually we even got a whopping 4 people at one time! Woot!

See, human standards suck because it caused me to believe that little was happening. We needed a prayer force baby, not just a few early morning risers! But, we were faithful regardless and the 2-4 of us meet every weekday at 7:30 to pray for the campus and other things.

But despite human standards, I now see the power of prayer where 2 or more are gathered. A quote from Eugene Peterson started to make more sense.

10.26.2009: No Little Prayers

One of the indignities to which pastors are routinely subjected is to be approached, as a group of people are gathering for a meeting or a meal, with the request, “Reverend, get things started for us with a little prayer, will ya?” It would be wonderful if we could counter by bellowing William McNamara’s fantasized response: “I will not! There are no little prayers! Prayer enters the lion’s den, brings us before the holy where it is uncertain whether we will come back alive or sane, for it is a fearful thing to fall into the hands of a living God.'”

About 2 weeks into this prayer, Ron Kopicko gave a message at Deeper about revival. At that time, I don’t think I even thought too much about it in relation as to what we were praying for. But what if God put that on his heart because of our prayers? Well yeah, that’s cool, but then something happened quite spontaneously at the end of this meeting.

“Hey! Anyone who wants to pray for this campus meet in my office tomorrow morning!”

Crap… That’s when our group meets. Well, for whatever reason we cancelled our prayer for the next morning and so I headed over to join Ron and his group and his office was PACKED! I had to stand up because there was so little room—well, that and because I had to leave early for class.

Jealousy kicked in. I try for two weeks to get this prayer force going and I got nothing and here’s 10-20 people crammed into a small office! And on top of that, the meeting continued! They meet every weekday morning too!

I had felt that God had told me to start this prayer group, and if not it was at least a good idea still. What was I doing wrong!?

Nothing.

God heard our prayers.
God answered our prayers.
God took 2-4 people and said “Thanks for asking! Now we can get started!”

And then I got an email from my friend Gina a few days into our prayer meetings :

Jamin!

Christi told me today that you have an early morning prayer meeting going on campus and since then you keep coming to mind about something God has placed on my heart.

Have you ever heard of the International House of Prayer (IHOP) in Kansas City? I feel like you have. They now have FREE live web-stream into their prayer room!  Christi and I were able to attend their ONETHING conference a couple weeks ago.

I feel heavily that we have to get something similar going on our campus! I know that jumping straight to 24/7 worship and intercession would be hard. But maybe a 48 weekly weekend time not so hard. We have a wonderful Worship Arts program, with lots of kids who love worshiping. And we have lots of groups on campus (Consuming Fire, Deeper, Praying and Fasting for revival group, etc) with students longing to go deeper in intimacy and prayer. Let’s join them ALL in together.

Ya know, I really wasn’t sure how this was gonna go, but once Gina got back to school she jumped right into it. Now we have 24 hour worship every Friday through Saturday! EVERY week! Now if that’s not God’s power I don’t know what is! Such groups are very difficult to get going.

And then I was walking through Lowell Hall yesterday when I came  across a sign that mentioned sessions of 3 hours of prayer and worship every Monday-Thursday. What is going on on this campus!?

It’s clear now.

God IS bringing revival.

In fact, I felt that way even further back:

11.11.2009: God Is About to Unleash

And so I told the people at the movie that satan was ticked that I was showing it and that he was ticked that they were there.

Good news folks.

He’s about to get a whole more ticked.
Because the kingdom of God is about to be unleashed.

In fact, I’ve heard a couple of prophecies from the church I’ve been at (Father’s House) about how Spring Arbor would have something like this happen. I once overheard someone telling Vicki that she saw a bunch of Spring Arbor students on their faces before God, but that it wasn’t in chapel.

I have no doubt that we will see that (if we haven’t already).

And so we are seeing the beginning stages of revival in Spring Arbor and Jackson and I am quite excited! Especially since many of the massive revivals of old started on college campuses!

We are becoming a “Revival Town.”

I am not writing this post to say that anyone started this revival, so don’t get that impression. It is GOD Who is doing it. I am writing to say that when you ask, you will receive. Maybe God wanted us to pray just so He would have something to answer. I have no reason to be jealous of of everyone else’s groups anymore. God is bringing revival and answering prayer and I thank God for this revelation this morning.

Oh and if you feel led, our little group of people still meets Tuesdays and Thursdays at 7:45 AM. Feel free to join us :)

“Light a fire in us Oh God, that no one can take away.”

Leave a Reply

