Simple Worship Songs

It is amazing how packed full of truth and power a simple worship song can be. Take the song “Sweep Me Away” for instance. The title is literally the chorus. There are three words in this chorus! It is a call of earnest desire to fall more in love with God. These three words become a powerful heart cry. And sometimes we don’t even need words in our worship. Simply not singing somehow becomes a powerful heart cry.

One of those simple worship songs I like is known as “Give Me Jesus.”

It’s repetitive.
It’s reflective.
And it’s kind of child-like in it’s lyrics.
But it’s great.

I played it at my old church awhile back and I found that I still have the recording now. Feel free to listen and reflect on the lyrics below.

Verse 1
In the morning, when I rise
In the morning, when I rise
In the morning, when I rise
Give me Jesus

Chorus
Give me Jesus
Give me Jesus
You can have all this world
Just give me Jesus

Verse 2
And when I am alone
And when I am alone
And when I am alone
Give me Jesus

Verse 3
And when I come to die
And when I come to die
And when I come to die
Give me Jesus

(Note: I believe this song is written by Fernando Ortega)

Leave a Reply

