Finding God in Video Games

“Jamin, what the cheese are you talking about?” you ask, confused as to how God could be found in a video game.

“Well I’ll tell you,” I say. “Sure, it may sound odd, but there are certain games that illuminate certain things to me. So read on my dear fellow or fellowette. You shall come to understand what I truly mean.”

The first game I wish to bring to your attention is the following:

Portal

Where is God in it? God is in the smartness of this game. These puzzles become incredibly difficult as you move closer to the end of the game and the ingenuity and scientific theory are so complex and yet so simple at the same time. It pushes me to reflect on not only how much intelligence God gave us, but how much more intelligent He is than us. This game is also the funniest game ever created as many might recognize from it’s ever so famous song, Still Alive.

Flower

Where is God in it? Well, to hear my thoughts on this one, you could just watch my video about it here or read my blog post here. But to get the basic gist of it, just read the following: This would probably be considered one of the first games to go green. As you fly by flowers they open up and the world around them is painted with amazing colour. Later you must revive an incredibly dark city that is completely overrun by technology. As you do so, it is revived into a beautiful cityscape. Seriously simple game. Seriously beautiful. You come to see God through the fake nature in this game in the same way that you would when you take a walk through the forest. And while I’m not much of a super tree hugger, you will come to a better revelation of the importance of taking care of what God has given us.

I must also mention that this game has one of the most beautiful soundtracks ever composed. It fits the game perfectly and also shows you the complexity of God’s amazing audible gift.

Little Big Planet

Where is God in it? Where isn’t God in this game? This is by far the most creative game ever created by mankind! When I play it I feel incredibly joyful and I think it’s because of the desire that the Creator put in us to create. You’ll find that desire comes to life in me while I guide Sack Boy throughout the 2 million levels random people have made. That’s just a microscopic taste of the joy God feels in creating us and the world around us.

It’s beautiful. It’s funny. It’s creative. It’s groundbreaking. It’s graphic design turned into a video game. Man, I talk about this game a lot on this blog.

Braid

Where is God in it? He’s in it the same way He’s in Portal, except I think this particular strategy/puzzle game is maybe even more complex than Portal. The complexity of the human mind in this game goes on to amplify that of God’s.

EndWar

Where is God in it? I could give this game points for creativity and complexity since you don’t have to use the controller. All you do is tell the game what to do through a mic and unlike most voice recognition programs, IT ACTUALLY UNDERSTANDS YOU! But that’s not why I brought it up. I actually bring it up due to my personal experience with it(yeah Wesleyan Quadrilateral).

I kind of hate this game. Not because it sucks or anything, I’m sure it’s a great game…

for those who are good at it.

But sadly, I am not one of those. I cannot for the life of me figure it out. Yet I found God in the online community. I know it sounds weird, but I did. I found the importance of community and working together, which is of obvious importance when it comes to God’s church (or at least it’s supposed to be obvious).

I was put into teams many times and instead of my teammates hating me for my horrible gaming skills, they typically loved on me and helped me to understand better. Even my opponents helped me! The first time I played online, my enemy offered me the chance to join his team so he could give me money to level up my weapons! Not gonna lie here. That caught me off guard. I found somewhat of a resemblance to what the Christian community should look like, except in the middle of World War 3 in an online video game.

Weird right?

Conclusion

So there ya go. I figure if I’m going to play video games like I do, I might as well search for God in them. And maybe if you’ve played any of these, you too have come to find God. If not, look around. Sometimes He pops up in unexpected places!

3 thoughts on “Finding God in Video Games

  1. I couldn’t disagree more. Granted, I am agnostic and therefor have not really “found” “God” anywhere… but as an avid gamer I also find it slightly insulting to credit these marvels of technology and human dedication to anything supernatural.

    I know you Christians love to go on about how your God is everywhere you look as long as you’re looking and have faith blahblahblah, but did you ever stop to think that maybe these game creators might be atheist? That most games today are almost completely void of positive religious characters, and most of which carry heavy anti-religious themes? I mean, assuming there is a God, why would he show his presence in an action game that glorifies the future World War 3?

    Christianity has its place in our society, and it’s called the Church. You’ve got a nice thought, but sadly it’s narrow minded.

  2. Thanks for stopping by. I do not by any means expect the creators of these games to be Christians or to be looking to exalt God in any way. However, that doesn’t mean that I can’t find connections to God in what they have created. If I go and watch a secular movie, that doesn’t mean that I will not find some kind of connection to God—even if you, being an agnostic, do not see that same connection.

    If you did actually read my post and not just the title of it, you might have seen that the connections I made were not related to the (possibly atheist) creators of these games, but rather to themes within the games themselves.

    In Braid and Portal I found such a mental complexity that, for me anyways, amplifies the complexity and intelligence of God.

    In Little Big Planet I found a connection to the creativity of the game and the creativity that God had in creating us and the world.

    In Flower I found a connection to taking care of creation, which I believe God cares about.

    And in EndWar, I was specifically talking about how the online gaming community was really nice and caring towards me and how the church needs to be more like that. I used that game to critique we Christians. Therefore, I wasn’t trying to amplify the war in the game, but the community.

    I don’t expect you, as an agnostic, to see the same things and I have, and I was not looking to insult you despite what you may think. But I do hope that you someday see God in some of the ways I have, because if you had seen God in the same huge ways that I have, these little theme-connections would be nothing. As cheesy as it sounds, I want you to experience the same love of God that I have. And since that love is not restrained to a church building or a group of Christians, I will let God show it to me wherever He can, whether it be in video games or elsewhere.

    And just so you know, nothing I typed here was supposed to be sarcastic or mean, so if it came out that way, I did not write it with those intentions. Have a good one.

Leave a Reply

