Reaching Japan

There’s a paragraph in my Common Prayer: A Liturgy for Ordinary Radicals that stands out to me every day:

Make us worthy, Lord, to serve our brothers and sisters throughout the world, who live and die in poverty and pain. Give them today, through our hands, their daily bread and, through our understanding, love; give peace and joy. Amen.

Now that this is ingrained in my mind, it has caused me to think a bit more radically about prayer. I mean, yes, of course I should be praying for Japan and others, but I also need to be (in the awesome words of Audio Adrenaline) God’s hands and feet to this nation. To bring them their daily bread and His love.

At church this past Sunday one of our members asked if we could all pray for Japan, so a few of us prayed out. I tried to take my own prayer in this radical direction, asking God how we could help with the situation. Then I asked again last night and once again this morning, and when I logged onto iTunes I found this:

My prayer this morning ended up being kind of sad. “Lord, you know it’s hard for me to give away my money, and so it’s difficult to go and google Japan to find out how I can.” I also prayed something along the lines of, “Lord, if I could do something more than donate to the red cross, that would probably be good.”

But then I log onto iTunes and there it is staring me in the face without searching for it. And even better, the buttons are already connected to my credit card. And donating to them is really probably more than I am capable of doing at this point, so why am I downplaying the work of the Red Cross? So I give my money and my prayer in hopes to be God’s hands and feet, and if something else comes my way, I only hope God will find me faithful in my giving.

If you’d like to give on iTunes, you can do so by clicking here. Or you can always give at their webpage.

This timing is pretty odd. I just finished making a new docusode for the radio station I work at, and it’s actually a promotion for the work of the Red Cross, which we set up about a month ago before any of this happened. It’s pretty funny so you should check it out at the bottom of the page.

And hey, if you have no money to invest, they can always use your blood. I’ll be honest—they tried to convince me to give some and I didn’t do it. So there’s one way I failed at being hands and feet when I probably should in the past few days.

Leave a Reply

