Snowflakes

I’ve developed this theory over the past few years that our seasons are getting later and later. And now, my not-so-amazing scientific idea is being proved by a very late snowfall this year. I mean, a few years ago it snowed at the beginning of October and now here we are in December and it’s just starting.

But I won’t complain. Give me a month (or maybe just a few days) and I’ll complain about it, but right now I’m just amazed.

Let’s face it: there’s always something about that first day of the season. It’s finally warm enough to go to the beach. It’s finally cool enough to go for a walk in your favorite hoodie. The green is finally starting to line the trees with life again. The red is signaling the leave’s epic float to the ground where it will become crunchy brown goodness. The snow is just starting to turn everything we know into a winter wonderland.

And all of these nature themes really get me thinking about God. There’s seriously just something about me that turns to Him when I’m surrounded by beauty. I go camping in the woods and I think about His creativity. I watch flowers erupt with color and I’m caught in wonder. I watch the snow float down and I’m awestruck (if you follow me on Twitter that may be pretty obvious as I seem to tweet every time it snows).

For me there’s a direct correlation between nature and God. It’s like an instant meditation. And I realize it more as I look through many of the songs I’ve written in the past. One second I’m writing a verse about how beautiful it is outside and the next I’m bursting out a chorus about how great God is. And this past Sunday this theme stood out to me all the more as I noticed it’s a fairly common theme in other songs.

Our first song was Everything Glorious by David Crowder Band and there was this theme about how all of this nature is surrounding us and that God makes everything glorious (hence the title of the song). And then we got to How Great Thou Art which actually surprised me because I haven’t sang the verses in a long time:

Verse 1
Oh Lord my God
When I in awesome wonder
Consider all
The worlds thy hands have made
I see the stars
I hear the roaring thunder
Thy power throughout
The universe displayed

Verse 2
When through the woods
And forest glades I wander
I hear the birds
Sing sweetly in the trees
When I look down
From lofty mountain grandeur
And hear the brook
And feel the gentle breeze

Chorus
Then sings my soul
My Savior God to thee
How great thou art
How great thou art

The next day I came across two older songs I wrote by the names of I Sing Out toYou and In Your which were about the same exact thing. In fact this blog post is the same idea. As I was driving home I saw snowflakes fall and lightly cover my car. What does it cause me to do? (A) Go home and write an entire post about God and nature and then (B) have my app crash on me and (C) lose the entire post and (D) have to write it all over again.

All because of snowflakes.

One thought on “Snowflakes

Leave a Reply

